Oral History Centre Donor List

The University of Winnipeg Foundation

Garry Leach

Mr. Garry Leach: An alumnus of The University of Winnipeg Collegiate (67) and The University of Winnipeg (BA 70), Garry Leach has remained active within the University community through volunteer positions on the Alumni Association Council, as well as the Board of Regents. He is the founding donor of the University’s Oral History Centre and has a deep interest in history, especially biographies and autobiographies. Leach is the owner of Belcher Island Smelting and Refining Corporation and has served as president and CEO of MRM Steel (formerly Manitoba Rolling Mills). He is a founding member and former board member of The Business Council of Manitoba and currently serves as a director of Pollard Banknote. Leach and his wife Carol are proud parents of their two sons. In 2011, Mr. Garry Leach generously donated $500,000 to the Oral History Centre. He is their largest donor to date, and without his support, The Oral History Centre wouldn't be possible.

 Thank you to all of the generous Oral History Centre donors!


Mr. Garry Leach


The Pollard Family Foundation**

Mr. Gordon Pollard**

Mr. Lawrie Pollard**


Mr. Richard Bonnycastle

$75,000 - $149,000

Dr. Abraham Arnold and Mrs. Bertha Arnold

$50,000 - $75,000

Burns Family Fund

$10,000 - $50,000

Dr. H. Sanford Riley**

$5000 - $9,999

Madam Justice P. Colleen Suche**

UFCW Local 832 

$1 - $1000.00                                         

Mr. Richard Graydon**

Dr. J. Nolan Reilly

The Jewish Foundation of Manitoba

The Winnipeg Foundation               

Ms Ingrid Botting**

Mrs. Margaret Ramsay**

Dr. Neil Besner

Mr. Dwaine King

Mr. Norman Larsen

Mr. Paul Moist

Mr. Douglas Smith

Mr. Lionel Steiman

Professor Jesse I. Vorst

Association for Canadian Jewish Studies

Gardiner Miller Arnold LLP

The Sholem Aleichem Community, Inc.

Dr. Gordon Barnes**

Dr. Susan Thompson**

Mr. Edward Cotton**

Mr. Irwin Isenstein

Mr. J. Robert Gardiner

Mr. Michel Monnin

Ms M. Sandra Appel

Mr. Sid Brail

Mr. Harry Rachlis

Mr. Delmar Sexsmith**

Ms Doris Bass

Mrs. Jeanette Block

Ms Mildred Gutkin

Mr. Issie Oiring

Ms Mindel Olenick

Ms Meeka Walsh

The Certified Technicians & 

Technologists Assoc. of MB Inc. 

Mrs. Freeda Baron

Mr. Ronald Goltsman

Ms Ellen Karlinsky

Ms Myra Wolch

Ms Evelyn Bagel

Ms Shirley Chochinov

Mrs. Doris Lacovetsky

Mrs. Esther Leven

Ms Helen Parker

Ms Menorah Waldman

Ms Teresa Murray**


*Combined gift of $250,000.

**Gift to the National Centre for Canadian History

in support of Oral History Centre activities.