Awards Night of Excellence 2017

The University of Winnipeg Foundation

Please watch this video to see the impact financial support provides to some of our students!

On Wednesday, February 1, 2017 over 200 students, donors and faculty members attended our annual Awards Night of Excellence to recognize the outstanding achievements made by our scholarship recipients and the generosity of our donors.  

The event, which was held in recent years at the Delta Hotel, returned to its traditional location in Riddell Hall at The University of Winnipeg. Attendees commented that the venue was completely transformed, creating an elegant ambiance. Guests were served an array of delicious appetizers catered by Diversity Food Services. 

Dr. Mavis Reimer, Dean of Graduate Studies, emceed the event. Throughout the evening she emphasized the impact financial support had on students and shared how the scholarships she received as an UWinnipeg undergraduate student encouraged her to further pursue her education.

Mavis Reimer

Dr. Mavis Reimer, Dean of Graduate Studies


Janelle Gobin


Logan Brennan


Alvin Paul


Evan Podaima


Alyssa Kidd

Along with opening remarks from Dr. Annette Trimbee, UWinnipeg President and Vice-Chancellor, each faculty had a representative in attendance to honour each student. Five outstanding scholarship recipients also spoke on behalf of their faculties (to read full profiles of the student speakers, click here).

James G. Oborne The evening also recognized long-time donor, James G. Oborne to thank him for his ongoing support towards student excellence.

Oborne serves as the President of Westgate Capital Management Ltd.  The James G. Oborne Scholarship was established in 2001 by The University of Winnipeg in honour of Oborne’s service as independent Chair of the Pension Committee. It is awarded to a student entering the final year of a degree program in Business and Administration or Economics who has significant extra-curricular and community involvements, has completed at least 18 credit hours of Humanities courses, and who has a stated intention of pursuing a career in business. This year’s recipient of the award is Evan Podaima.

James and Evan

Oborne with this year's James G. Oborne Scholarship recipient, Evan Podaima

Oborne is also on the Board of Directors of the Intrepid Society, which oversees the Sir William Stephenson Scholarship.

Thank you to all our donors who make this evening possible. Without your generosity, we would not be able to provide essential financial support for our brightest students.
To view all photos of the evening, please click here