12th Annual Duff Roblin Award Dinner

The University of Winnipeg Foundation


Bob Silver, Chancellor of UWinnipeg, recieved the 2018 Duff Roblin Award. PHOTO: David Lipnowski

On October 30, 2018, over 320 guests gathered at The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre to honour Bob Silver, prominent Winnipeg businessman and Chancellor of The University of Winnipeg, with the 12th Annual Duff Roblin Award.

A tribute to former Premier and inaugural recipient, The Honourable Duff Roblin, this prestigious award recognizes a recipient’s qualities as an outstanding Manitoban and patron of education who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to community. Bob’s ongoing leadership and support of UWinnipeg is a testament to his dedication to excellence in education.  His commitment to community and enthusiasm for building a brighter future for all through education and advocacy within the province of Manitoba are extraordinary qualities. 



The University of Winnipeg and its Foundation extend warmest thanks to all donors, sponsors, corporate table and individual ticket purchasers, and to all the staff and volunteers who made the evening one to remember. Sincere thanks also go to Dinner Co-Chairs R.M. (Bob) Kozminski, Sherri Walsh, and Danny Bubis for their tireless volunteer leadership.

The evening was a tremendous success; generous guests and donors raised over $85,000 for The Duff Roblin Scholars Fund and The Opportunity Fund at The University of Winnipeg.

Head Table

Back row L to R: Sheldon Parks, Kevin Trimbee, Brian Daly, Jennifer Roblin, Annette Trimbee, John Bulman. Front row L to R: Claude Ouellette, Eric Johnstone, Bob Silver, Kim Silver. PHOTO: David Lipnowski

Sandy Riley

Sanford Riley CM OM. PHOTO: David Lipnowski


View all photos of the evening.

Past recipients of the Duff Roblin Award include:

  • 2017 - Robert (Bob) Kozminski
  • 2016 - Gerry Price
  • 2015 - Justice Murray Sinclair
  • 2014 - Gail Asper 
  • 2013 - Jan Belanger
  • 2012 - Charles Coffey
  • 2011 - Edward Kennedy
  • 2010 - Tribute to Duff Roblin
  • 2009 - Kerry Hawkins
  • 2008 - Tom Jackson
  • 2007 - Duff Roblin

Learn more about Bob Silver and the Duff Roblin Award please click here.