11th Annual Duff Roblin Award Dinner

The University of Winnipeg Foundation


Dr. Annette Trimbee, President and Vice Chancellor of UWinnipeg, presents Dr. R.M. (Bob) Kozminski with the 2017 Duff Roblin Award. PHOTO: Jason Halstead

On October 26, 2017, over 500 guests gathered at The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre to honour Dr. R.M. (Bob) Kozminski with the 11th Annual Duff Roblin Award. The evening was a tremendous success; generous guests and donors raised over $100,000 for The Duff Roblin Scholars Fund, Community Learning Initiatives, and student scholarships and bursaries at The University of Winnipeg.

The Duff Roblin Award recognizes an outstanding Manitoban who has shown commitment to advancing our community, especially through education. Dr. Kozminski embodies the best of what it means to be engaged in the community, and through his philanthropic work has advanced virtually every aspect of this province's community, especially in the area of post-secondary education.

An alumnus of The University of Winnipeg (BA '67), Dr. Kozminski is a prominent business leader and active community philanthropist. Dr. Kozminski began his career as lawyer, leaving the practice in 1986 to become an entrepreneur in the automotive industry. Over the years, with Dr. Kozminski as CEO, the family company expanded its business activities to include residential and commercial real estate development. 

R.M. Kozminski

Dr. R.M. (Bob) Kozminski, Brian Daly, Deirdre Kozminski, Sherri Walsh. PHOTO: Jason Halstead


The Honourable Brian Pallister, Premier of Manitoba/Premier Ministre du Manitoba. PHOTO: Jason Halstead

The University of Winnipeg and its Foundation extend warmest thanks to all donors, sponsors, corporate table and individual ticket purchasers, and to all the staff and volunteers who made the evening one to remember. Sincere thanks also go to Dinner Co-Chairs Arni Thorsteinson and Sherri Walsh for their tireless volunteer leadership.

View all photos of the evening.

Past recipients of the Duff Roblin Award include:

2016 - Gerry Price
2015 - Justice Murray Sinclair
2014 - Gail Asper
2013 - Jan Belanger
2012 - Charles Coffey
2011 - Edward Kennedy
2010 - Tribute to Duff Roblin
2009 - Kerry Hawkins
2008 - Tom Jackson
2007 - Duff Roblin

Learn more about Dr. Kozminski and the Duff Roblin Award please click here.