

### THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG



**DISCOVER · ACHIEVE · BELONG** 

### Department of Chemistry Awards Night

### Faculty and Staff

#### **Staff**

Peter Balagus Jamie Petrachek Murielle Jennings Gundars Reinfelds Ramin Vakili

### **Faculty**

Athar Ata
Kimberly Buffie
Doug Craig
Michael Eze
Ken Friesen
Doug Goltz
Jamie Galka
Joshua Hollett
Devin Latimer

Jamie Ritch Ed Segstro Desiree Vanderwel Adrian Weber Christopher Wiebe

> Charles Wong Tabitha Wood

Adam McCubbin

#### **Adjunct Faculty**

Michael Attas
Tedros Bezabeh
Eugene Gussakovsky
Omkar Ijare
Ian Smith

### **Laboratory Teaching Awards**

Established by the Chemistry Department in 2014 to recognize the student members of the Department who instruct laboratories.

Awarded to graduate student instructors who demonstrate excellence and dedication in the laboratory.

Cole Mauws for Basic Principals of Chemical Reactivity
Regine Abeysinghe for Organic Chemistry II

### **Chemistry Faculty Awards**

Awarded annually to Chemistry majors with outstanding academic records who are pursuing further studies in the Chemistry program.

**Less than 6 credit hours of chemistry** 

**Nathaniel Hiebert and Vinay Bector** 

9 – 18 credit hours of chemistry

Amy Lee, Mohamed Abo Aoun, Lucy Todd, Kareem Hassan, Chantal Dozois, Jasper Tibayan, Gurleen Cheema, Shae Yakichuk, Richard Saunders, Ariel Lisogorsky

21 – 36 credit hours of chemistry

Louie Concepcion, Andres Garcia Fiola, Carolyn Gregory,
Brooke Richtik, Hannah Bloomfield

More than 36 credit hours of chemistry

Nicholas Pegoretti and Jaya Roe

# Chemistry Student's Association Scholarship

This scholarship, provided by The University of Winnipeg Chemistry Student's Association, will be awarded to a student enrolled in the Chemistry or Biochemistry program who has completed at least 18 credit hours of chemistry at The University of Winnipeg and is involved in research or extracurricular activities within the faculty or community.

**Justin Perras** 

### George Tomlinson Scholarship in Biochemistry

This scholarship was established with a bequest from Professor George Tomlinson an esteemed teacher and researcher in Biochemistry and Member of the Chemistry Department from 1974 to 2007.

Awarded annually to a student in the 4-Year or Honours Biochemistry or Chemistry program who has completed courses in Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry, and other senior level chemistry courses.

**Navjot Kaur** 

# Salem Abd-El-Aziz International Student Chemistry Scholarship

Established in 2006 by Dr. Alaa. S. Abd-El-Aziz, former Professor and Chair of Chemistry, and Vice-President–Research, International, and External Affairs, in recognition of his father's dedication to post-secondary and graduate education.

Awarded to an International Student with excellent academic achievement enrolling in the second or third year of a Chemistry major at The University of Winnipeg.

**Gamurichirai ZinZombe** 

### Klaus and Ingrid Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry

The Klaus and Ingrid Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry celebrates the lives of Ingrid and Klaus Philipp.

Klaus Philipp dedicated more than 32 years to his work as an Instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999. The scholarship was established in memory of Ingrid Philipp, his wife of 34 years.

Awarded annually to a 4-year or Honours *Biochemistry* major who has the highest grade point average in the best 18 credit hours in Chemistry completed at The University of Winnipeg.

**Angelique Parajas** 

### The Philipp Scholarship

The Philipp Scholarship celebrates the life of Klaus Philipp. Klaus Philipp devoted his life to Chemistry and Biochemistry with a passionate commitment to imparting that knowledge to his students. He spent more than thirty-two years as an instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999.

Awarded to a third-year student with the highest GPA going into their fourth year undergraduate studies program in Chemistry and Biochemistry.

**Hailey Hildebrand** 

### Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry

The Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry celebrates the lives of Ingrid and Klaus Philipp.

Klaus Philipp dedicated more than 32 years to his work as an instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999. The scholarship was established in memory of Ingrid Philipp, his wife of 34 years.

Awarded annually to a 4-year or Honours *Chemistry* major who has the highest grade point average in the best 18 credit hours in Chemistry completed at The University of Winnipeg.

**Harjot Sidhu** 

# Molly Rogers Brickman & Leo Brickman Scholarship in Chemistry

This scholarship is provided by the Erica and Arnold Rogers Fund for Academic Excellence.

Awarded annually to the most promising student entering their final year of the 4-year Chemistry program.

Megan Rutherford

### Acknowledgements

#### **Chemistry Department Scholarship Committee**

Kimberly Buffie, Jamie Galka, Doug Goltz, Ed Segstro, Charles Wong, and Devin Latimer

#### **Event Organization**

Murielle Jennings, Kimberly Buffie, Chemistry Student's Association

### Thank you for attending and supporting the academic achievements of our students