

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG



DISCOVER · ACHIEVE · BELONG

Department of Chemistry Awards Night

Faculty and Staff

Staff

Heidi Van Delden Peter Balagus Jamie Petrachek Murielle Jennings Gundars Reinfelds Ramin Vakili

Faculty

Athar Ata
Kimberly Buffie
Doug Craig
Michael Eze
Ken Friesen
Doug Goltz
Jamie Galka
Joshua Hollett
Devin Latimer
Adam McCubbin
Jamie Ritch
Ed Segstro
Desiree Vanderwel
Christopher Wiebe

Adjunct Faculty

Michael Attas
Tedros Bezabeh
Eugene Gussakovsky
Omkar Ijare
Ian Smith

Tabitha Wood

Chemistry Student's Association Scholarship

This scholarship, provided by The University of Winnipeg Chemistry Student's Association, will be awarded to a student enrolled in the Chemistry or Biochemistry program who has completed at least 18 credit hours of chemistry at The University of Winnipeg and is involved in research or extracurricular activities within the faculty or community.

Saarankah Sambanthan

Biochemistry Major Awards

Awarded to 4-year Biochemistry majors with outstanding academic records in chemistry courses who are pursuing further studies in Chemistry.

6 credit hours of chemistry

Madison Carver

9 – 15 credit hours of chemistry

Danielle Lemoine, Mariel Talabis, Russell Malabanan, Sevda Tayeb-Oskouie, Samara Pereles, Jesse Davidson, Karanveer Multani

18 – 27 credit hours of chemistry

Spas Nikolov, Kshitij Pruthi, Khushali Patel, Harsimran Kaur

More than 30 credit hours of chemistry

Joseph Reznichek, Kathleen Watts, Grace Johnston

DISCOVER · ACHIEVE · BELONG

Chemistry Faculty Awards

Awarded annually to Chemistry majors with outstanding academic records who are pursuing further studies in the Chemistry program.

Less than 6 credit hours of chemistry

Lewis Lee, Harshvi Patel

9 – 18 credit hours of chemistry

Navpreet Singh, Emily Van, Taniesha Hubscher, James Huillery, Kathrisha Jose, Rebecca Thevenot, Kiera Augusto, Pahulpreet Rao

21 – 36 credit hours of chemistry

Harrison Engen, Anjali Goel, Nikita Goel

More than 36 credit hours of chemistry

Lucy Todd

George Tomlinson Scholarship in Biochemistry

This scholarship was established with a bequest from Professor George Tomlinson an esteemed teacher and researcher in Biochemistry and Member of the Chemistry Department from 1974 to 2007.

Awarded annually to a student in the 4-Year or Honours Biochemistry or Chemistry program who has completed courses in Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry, and other senior level chemistry courses.

Nathaniel Heibert

Klaus and Ingrid Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry

The Klaus and Ingrid Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry celebrates the lives of Ingrid and Klaus Philipp.

Klaus Philipp dedicated more than 32 years to his work as an Instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999. The scholarship was established in memory of Ingrid Philipp, his wife of 34 years.

Awarded annually to a 4-year or Honours *Biochemistry* major who has the highest grade point average in the best 18 credit hours in Chemistry completed at The University of Winnipeg.

Maia Doucet

The Philipp Scholarship

The Philipp Scholarship celebrates the life of Klaus Philipp. Klaus Philipp devoted his life to Chemistry and Biochemistry with a passionate commitment to imparting that knowledge to his students. He spent more than thirty-two years as an instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999.

Awarded to a third-year student with the highest GPA going into their fourth year undergraduate studies program in Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Rylie Dickson

Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry

The Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry celebrates the lives of Ingrid and Klaus Philipp.

Klaus Philipp dedicated more than 32 years to his work as an instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999. The scholarship was established in memory of Ingrid Philipp, his wife of 34 years.

Awarded annually to a 4-year or Honours *Chemistry* major who has the highest grade point average in the best 18 credit hours in Chemistry completed at The University of Winnipeg.

Hannah Bloomfield

Molly Rogers Brickman & Leo Brickman Scholarship in Chemistry

This scholarship is provided by the Erica and Arnold Rogers Fund for Academic Excellence.

Awarded annually to the most promising student entering their final year of the 4-year Chemistry program.

Lucy Todd

Acknowledgements

Chemistry Department Scholarship Committee

Kimberly Buffie, Jamie Galka, Ed Segstro, Devin Latimer, Jamie Ritch and Athar Ata

Event Organization

Heidi Van Delden, Kimberly Buffie, ChemSA

Thank you for attending and supporting the academic achievements of our students

Thank-you to our sponsors







