

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

MEMORANDUM

TO: Members of Senate

FROM: Colin Russell, Chair, Senate Student Services Committee

RE: Senate Student Services Committee Year-End Report and Awards Report

DATE: April 26, 2023

During the 2022-23 year, the Senate Student Services Committee:

- received information that The University of Winnipeg's English Language Requirement
 has been updated to include IELTS online and TOEFL home online delivery models for
 two accepted English proficiency tests. The assessment format and content of both of
 these tests are identical to the in-person proficiency tests and are overseen by a live exam
 proctor.
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate lists of graduands for the June 2022, October 2022, and February 2023 Convocations
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate Degree and Major Statistics from February 2022, June 2022, and October 2022 Convocations
- brought forward the 2024-25 Academic Dates for approval
- approved 11 new awards and amendments to 16 awards:

New Awards

The Amber Scholarship II
The Collegiate International Scholarship
Mark Golden Scholarship in Classics
Rev Dwight Rutherford Scholarship
Vasyl (Bill) Balan International Students from the Ukraine Bursary Fund
H. Sanford Riley Opportunity Fund
ELP Emergency Bursary
Centennial Institute Fund – Indigenous Development and Indigenous Governance
Job Yellowhead Model School Award

Blaise Pascal Award in Mathematics and Statistics Brett Buckingham Scholarship

Amendments to Awards

Derek Wong Memorial Prize John Bulman Collegiate Entrance Scholarship Lawrence F. Schmidt Memorial Awards Stewart Family Scholarship for Adult Learners Howard Mathieson Scholarship Marjorie J. MacDonald Bursary MARRC (Manitoba Association for Resource Recovery Corporation) Bursary Murray C. Coppinger Memorial Bursary Bhai Kahan Singh Nabha Prize Bhai Kahan Singh Nabha Scholarship Adrienne and Brian Katz Family Scholarship (Collegiate) Father Mulholland Library Fund Geography Teacher Book Prize Empowerment Scholarship Community Supporter Award James McCallum Russell Bursary

I wish to thank the members of the Committee for their work this year, and extend particular thanks to Student Services Communications Coordinator, Lois Cherney, for her ever-capable assistance with the work of Senate Student Services.