## Report of the Senate Budget Review Committee 2022-2023

The Senate Budget Review Committee was formed in 2011. Its membership is:

- Vice-President (Academic) [co-Chair]
- Vice-President (Finance and Administration) [co-Chair]
- One Dean or Associate Dean
- Two Senators
- Eight faculty members
- One UWSA senator

Members of the committee in 2022-2023 were:

Navinder Basra (co-chair), Jino Distasio (co-chair), Hugh Grant, Emma Alexander, Anne-Laurence Caudano, Carla Manfredi, Peter Miller, Jim Clark, Pauline Pearson, Scott Forbes, Anuraag Shrivastav, Rhonda Hawthorne, Michael Hohner, David Dokun

The responsibilities of the Committee were:

- to consider and provide advice to Senate with respect to the academic and research implications of budgetary issues, having regard for Senate's responsibility for academic policy, and the President's responsibility to present an annual budget to the Board of Regents for approval;
- 2. to analyze preliminary budget and estimates documents from the perspective of academic priorities, having regard for the University's academic mission;
- 3. to meet regularly, at appropriate times, with the President's budget team, as the budget is developed over the course of each year, in order to provide timely input and contribute to the budgetary process.

The Committee met on April 29, 2022, and April 25, 2023 Among the discussion topics during the Committee's deliberations were:

- Review of the approved three-year budget (2022-2025)
- Discussion on the 2023-2024 operating budget prior to its approval by the Board of Regents
- Discussion on the format and frequency of meetings