

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (the "Committee") 2022-2023

The Academic Planning Committee met on a monthly basis and forwarded to Senate for its consideration the following program, course, and regulation proposals:

- Changes to Indigenous Studies Minor
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Political Science
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications
- Proposals to Create Certificate Programs in Indigenous Languages:
 - a) Certificate in Indigenous Languages
 - b) Certificate in Teaching Indigenous Languages for Vitality
 - c) Certificate in Supporting Multilingualism and Indigenous Languages in Schools
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Physics
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: ECON EFIN
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Math
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Applied Computer Science
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: English
- Social Science/Humanities Designation
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: CRS
- Proposal from Graduate Studies for Changes to History Joint Master's Program for 2023-2024 Calendar
- Proposal to Establish a Second Stream Data Analytics, MiM Program for 2023-2024 Calendar
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Data Science Streams
- Proposal from Graduate Studies: MA in Cultural Studies and Master in Environmental and Social Change (MESC).
- Multi-Level Courses
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: BANT

In 2022-2023, the membership of the Committee was comprised of the Vice-President (Academic) (Chair), Vice-President (Research and Innovation), three Deans or Associate Deans, Registrar (nonvoting), two academic members of the Senate Curriculum Committee, one being the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee, eight faculty members, two from each of the four areas, - one UWSA Senator.

Jino Distasio, Interim Chair, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic/Vice-President, Research and Innovation (January 2023)

Hugh Grant, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics

Glenn Moulaison, Dean, Faculty of Arts

Doug Goltz, Dean, Faculty of Science

Colin Russell, Registrar

Patricia Fitzpatrick, Chair, Curriculum Committee

Laura Forsythe, Member, Curriculum Committee

Mark Meuwese, Faculty Member-Humanities

Heather Milne, Faculty Member-Humanities

Ken Fish, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Tetyana Narozhna, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Jeff Babb, Faculty Member-Sciences Sherry Hebert, Faculty Member- Sciences Heather Krepski, Faculty Member at Large Debbie Mortimer, Faculty Member at Large Raihan Mahmud, UWSA Senator

Jan Stewart, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic began Administrative Leave January 1, 2023

Term Ended June 30, 2022:

Brandon Christopher, Faculty Member, Humanities Hope McIntyre, Faculty Member, Humanities Doug Williams, Faculty Member, Social Sciences Michael Hohner, Faculty Member, Member at Large Karen Magro, Faculty Member, Member at Large Shubhdeep Kaur, UWSA Senator

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Jino Distasio

Interim Chair, Senate Academic Planning Committee Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic