

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE THE SENATE ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT APPEALS COMMITTEE 2022- 2023

As Chair of the Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee, I submit the following Report to Senate for the 2022-2023 academic year.

In 2022-2023, the membership of the Committee consisted of:

Jino Distasio, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic (Chair)

Lesley Eblie Trudel, Dean or Associate Dean, not the Chair or member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Kim Loeb, Executive Director, PACE

Emma Alexander, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Laura Sokal, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Luc Clair, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Matt Dyce, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Laura Anne Warsycki, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Desiree Vanderwel, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Sualeha Zameer, UWSA Senator

Jan Stewart, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic, began Administrative Leave January 1, 2023.

Term Ended June 30, 2022: Samantha Cook Carl Heaman-Warne Pauline Ripat

The Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee dealt with 8 cases of academic misconduct. The Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee upheld the findings of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee for 7 cases. Due to additional information, one student's penalty was changed from having 35% deducted from the final grade of the course to one percent higher than the passing grade.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Jino Distasio

Interim Chair, Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic