fb pixel

Vanessa Tait

Vanessa Tait

Tansi, my name is Vanessa Tait.  My Spirit name is Stands with the Wolf Woman.  I am a Cree woman from O-pipon-na-piwin Cree Nation, also known as South Indian Lake, Manitoba. I was born and raised in northern Manitoba, and am very proud of my roots as a Cree Woman.

Currently, I am obtaining my Masters in Development Practice - Indigenous Development at the University of Winnipeg.  I completed my Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) Degree, majoring in Aboriginal Business Studies at the University of Manitoba in October 2012. Also, I participated and graduated from the Indigenous Women in Community Leadership program in August 2011 from the Coady International Institute at St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. In the program there was one-month of training and a three-month placement in my home community where I did a series of asset-based community development workshops, appreciative interviewing, and hands-on learning from community members.  Also, I am a Certified Technician Aboriginal Economic Developer (TAED), which I was recognized and obtained in 2014.

I have worked in various corporations, such as Manitoba Hydro, Royal Bank of Canada, Business Development Bank of Canada, The City of Winnipeg, Asper School of Business and also other community organizations.