Writer in Residence

The 2014 Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence

The English department is proud to announce that Chandra Mayor will be our ninth Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence, from January through April, 2014.

Come out to meet Chandra at her Inaugural Reading Thursday, January 23, at 7:00 p.m. in Room 2M70 at the University of Winnipeg. This event is free and open to the public.

Chandra will also deliver the 2014 Carol Shields Distinguished Lecture on Thursday, March 13, at 7:00 p.m. in Convocation Hall at the University of Winnipeg. This event is also free and open to the public. Everyone is welcome.

Chandra Mayor is one of Winnipeg's strongest voices. Since she was named Most Promising Manitoba Writer early in her career, she has gone on to receive numerous literary honours for her poetry and fiction. Her poetry collection August Witch won the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award. Her novel Cherry was nominated for the Margaret Laurence Award and won the Carol Shields Award. She was the regional winner of CBC Radio's Poetry Face-Off in 2006 and 2007. More recently, her short story collection All the Pretty Girls was honoured with a Lambda Award. Chandra's work has appeared in anthologies such as Between Interruptions: 30 Women tell the Truth about Motherhood, Breathing Fire 2: Canada's New Poets, Exposed, and Post-Prairie. She has served as the Writer-in-Residence at the Winnipeg Public Library, worked with the journals dark leisure, CV2 and Prairie Fire, taught creative writing workshops, and performed readings of her work at venues across the country.

Chandra will have an office in the English department, where writers and emerging writers in the community may meet with her for a free consultation about their writing. Please call 204.786.9283 to book an appointment. She will also appear at the two special events, listed above.†

Chandra Mayor's residency is made possible by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Carol Shields family, and the University of Winnipeg.

A Chat with 2013-14 Writer-in-Residence Chandra Mayor and 2012-13 Writer-in-Residence Gregory Scofield

Friends of Carol Shields Celebrate Writer in Residence Program

On November 22, 2012, the English Department, in collaboration with the University of Winnipeg Foundation, held a Reception for the Friends of Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence Program. Carol was so well-loved and had touched so many, the evening was a great success with over fifty guests making their way to Convocation Hall on the first snowy Winnipeg night of the season. Thank you to all who attended for sharing stories about Carol as well as plans for the future of the Residency. Here is a video recapping this wonderful evening

If you would like to become a Friend of the Program by making a donation please click here.

The Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence Program

The Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence Program at the University of Winnipeg was made possible by a generous donation from the Shields family. The programís name honours the memory of Carol Shields, Pulitzer-prize winning novelist and Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg from 1996 to 2000. At Convocations, our students and their families were privileged to hear her wise and beautifully-crafted addresses to the graduands. Carol was also a generous mentor to emerging writers, so this program is a fitting tribute to her. As UW President Dr. Lloyd Axworthy has said, "Carol was enormously committed to cultivating young writers. Through the thoughtfulness and generosity that the Shields family has shown to the University, opportunities have been created for many more people and emerging writers to discover their creative voices."

Thanks to this program, the University of Winnipeg is able to host a creative writer for four months of each year (January through April). While the writer spends most of this time working on a new creative project, he or she also gives public readings or lectures and holds regular office hours on campus for members of the public who want to consult them about their manuscripts or about the writing life.

Past writers in this program include Margaret Sweatman, Sandra Birdsell, John Weier, Maria Campbell, David Bergen, Ivan Coyote, Debbie Patterson and Gregory Scofield.